Maybe God Has a Better Plan

Okay, so I’m a little late in writing today, but nevertheless, here’s today’s post!  It may not be as lengthy as some of the posts from the last few weeks (or reflect on societal issues), but today’s topic hits close to home for me:

Surrendering your plans to God doesn’t mean He’s not listening to your prayers!

Over the past year, I’ve been anxious for God to help me in a certain area of my life.  Being a perfectionist, I racked my brain for a “solution” to what I had convinced myself was a “major problem” that I was going through.  Finally, upon discovering said solution, I began praying for God to carry out the solution I had in mind.  Now, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with notifying God of the desires of our hearts.  However, I had become something I have dubbed the “selfish prayer warrior”, which basically entails the fact that I was being as stubborn as Jonah while he was trying to avoid Nineveh!  And guess what happened?  God hasn’t answered that prayer.

Instead, He one-upped my “solution” for a better one, once I finally surrendered my plans to Him.

GodMeme

Taking into consideration the comic above, God pretty much dragged me through that long groove of relentless prayer for my selfish desire, through all of the torment and strife I faced while experiencing anxiousness and doubt, through all of the sleepless nights I faced wondering if He was listening to me, in order to finally get me to a place where I would realize that His plans for my life are infinitely better than any “solution” I could fathom on my own.  One night about a month ago, God let me catch a small glimpse of what my proposed solution would be like.  After reflecting on it that night, I realized that I had lost interest in chasing this dream, because I felt that I was fighting God in the process.  And let me tell you, that is a fight I will never be able to win! So, in turn I placed the issue in God’s capable hands and stepped back completely, knowing that He already has a game plan for this crazy life of mine, and that it isn’t my place to worry myself to death over conjuring up my own happy ending.  And guess what?  My life has already taken a turn for the better by taking a step back from my own desires, and allowing God to lead me down the path that He has planned for me.

He’s got this, guys.  He’s got it all figured out.

“A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.”

-Proverbs 16:9

 

Goodnight and God bless!

-Allyson 😀

Photo is attributed to chainsawsuit.com | Found on Pinterest at: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/324540716877105942/

Leave a Reply

