A Letter to High School Seniors

Dear Class of 2016,

First and foremost, congratulations!  I personally feel connected to your graduating class because my younger sister will be graduating from high school this year.  Over the years I have watched her and her friends grow from silly Kindergartners into well-rounded young adults.  Throughout this time I have watched this group of kids share hundreds of laughs and make tons of memories together that I’m sure they will remember for a lifetime.  However, the purpose for this letter today isn’t to give you a sappy monologue about the joys of high school; rather, we’re going to focus on why you should face the end of this chapter with a smile.

The world tells us that our senior year of high school is the most definitive time of our lives, making it seem as if it will be the one flawless year we’ll always look back and smile on.  And sure, for some people, it may possibly be.  Nevertheless, for the overwhelming majority, senior year is a vast portal of unnecessary stress, teenage dramatics, and feelings of inadequacy as kids ready themselves to face the cold, cruel world.

When I graduated from my high school four years ago, I was overjoyed with relief.  From August to June, I completed three A.P. classes, two online college classes, applied for scholarships, watched friendships begin to falter, and honestly I began to despise school.  I would dread going to my first period A.P. English class, where we were tested on the most asinine material.  I cringed every time I earned less than an 80% on tests or quizzes in A.P. Calculus, knowing any chance at a scholarship would be down the drain if my grade plummeted any further.  In fact, I hated school so much during my senior year, that I wrote a song about it.  This is the chorus, which spells out S.E.N.I.O.R.Y.E.A.R.:

Stress

Energy deficiency

No time for anything

I‘m about to scream from insanity

Or fall over and cry

Really does it have to be this hard?

Yeah this is as bad as a broken heart

Everything is coming at me

And I don’t even want to try to

Really believe that senior year is the best year there could be

As you can see, I wanted out. And those lyrics are not some of my best, so please bear with me. XD

Everyone around me had these detailed plans of going to four-year colleges and universities in order to pave the road for their dream career.  It seemed like everyone else but me was receiving scholarships in hefty sums. And there I was, unsure of what kind of career I wanted to pursue until I was filling out a college application and was forced to select something.  Finally after doing a little research, I chose to go to a local community college to earn a couple of Associate’s Degrees in Computer Information Technology, and then transfer to a local university to earn my Bachelor’s Degree in Management Information Systems.  I felt good about my decision, and was excited when my friends asked me what my plans were for college.  That is, until I was mocked for opting to go to a community college rather than a state university, and told that the university I wanted to transfer to was for deadbeats.  Yeah, and I’m still talking about my “friends” here.

“There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the Lord, that shall stand.” -Proverbs 19:21

The truth, Class of 2016, is that even if you work as hard as you possibly can at mapping out every minute detail for college, most things aren’t going to turn out like you’ve planned.  The Facebook newsfeed of any high school graduate is an exemplary representation of this truth.   In fact, I only know of a handful of people from my high school who have truly walked the path that they set for themselves senior year. And, as hard as it may be to hear, you’ll probably lose some friends as well.

The reality of senior year, my young readers, is that no matter what plans you make for yourself, God will always be way ahead of you, equipped with better plans than you could ever imagine.  Our Father in Heaven, the Creator of the Universe, has already orchestrated the course of your entire life!  Therefore, you don’t have to bear the burden of life choices; seek God in all that you do, and He will establish His plans for you.

So keep this verse in mind when you feel overwhelmed with thoughts of the future:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”
-Isaiah 55:8-9

So don’t worry, guys!  Senior year is just a fragment of your life.  God’s standing by you for an eternity if you accept His everlasting love and allow Him to have His will for your life.  And by the way, a scholarship bought with the blood of Jesus is worth exponentially more in the long run than the one you’re losing your mind over… and Jesus accepts everybody! 😀

Congratulations Class of 2016, and God bless!

-Allyson 😀

 

Image found on Pinterest, no copyright infringement intended.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

