The Appeal of Unpopularity

Last night, I had a dream that I received 1,500+ views on a blog post…

Yeah, so I had a rather nerdy dream last night about this blog.  I had completed another post like usual, and within seconds, both the view count and the like count went through the roof.  I was ecstatic, and was relaying the news to anyone that would listen.  When I awoke this morning, I smiled to myself, wondering how awesome it would be if that ever became a reality.  Then I realized that I was being entirely selfish.

This blog isn’t about me.  This blog is about God.

Popularity shouldn’t be my intention.

I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.”
-John 17:14

In fact, popularity shouldn’t even be an expectation.  If I am aiming to make the word of God and the gift of salvation through Jesus known to the world by writing this blog, then I should not expect the world to indulge in reading it.  The above verse states clearly that the world will hate Christians if we broadcast the word of God.  In fact, I know this to be true, because I have received ugly comments about this blog from nonbelievers.  The thing is, we shouldn’t care that people of the world are shunning us for our beliefs, simply because they are not hating us… they’re hating God, and everything He stands for.  Therefore, when I felt a nudge from God to start this blog back in February, I came into it knowing that I wasn’t going to please everyone.  I’m fine with that.  I didn’t start writing this blog to make me known, just God.

“For what is a man advantaged, if he gain the whole world, and lose himself, or be cast away?” -Luke 9:25

Luke 9:25 is one of my all-time favorite Bible verses, because it put into perspective for me why we as Christians should seek to be unpopular in this world.  The only way for a Christian to become popular in this world is to tolerate and actively encourage others that choosing to live in sin is fine and dandy.  The world doesn’t want to hear the truth, that we need to repent our sins, turn away from them, and accept salvation from Jesus Christ.  People of the world do not want to hear that they can’t save themselves.  People of the world don’t want to be told that they’re living down a futile road unless they ask God to take over.  If we tell them the truth about God, we’ll be mocked and questioned; however, that’s a risk I’m willing to take if I can reach one person and help them to find the love of God.  Jesus: Be My Escape is not a blog that preaches the toleration of sin.  I’m sure that if it was, I’d have the 1,500+ views I dreamed about last night and then some (Note:  I’m not saying that true Christian blogs can’t have large view counts.  I’m simply saying that, like Christian movies, books, etc., we’re inclined to have less views than media outlets that produce worldly media).  Why do I choose not to spread a thick layer of sin toleration on the sandwiches of the masses?  The answer is simple:  I have read the Bible, and I know what it says.  Because of that fact, I am not going to supply a feast of false teachings onto the plates of the world.  My goal, as I wrote earlier, is to reach that one soul who is hungering for the real truth of salvation through Jesus Christ.  If I were to supply a feast of false teachings, I wouldn’t gain a soul for God; I’d just lose myself in the process.

Marvel not, my brethren, if the world hate you.”
-1 John 3:13

If you’re a Christian and you’ve been wondering why the world seems to hate us, refer back to the verse above.  The world doesn’t hate you because of anything you’ve created on your own, but because you believe in a Heavenly Father who has your best intentions at heart.  In this day and time, Christians can’t escape persecution.  As the world is falling farther and farther away from the teachings of God, Christians are going to receive more backlash than ever before.  Well, what are we going to do about it?

“And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.”
-1 John 2:17

In the words of my favorite filmmaker, Walt Disney, “keep moving forward.”  If we don’t succumb to the lusts of the world, then we’ll spend eternity with God.  I’m going to let you in on a little secret if you haven’t read the book of Revelation:  the world, sin, nonbelievers, Satan… they’re not going to make it to Heaven.  We’re on this earth for a sliver of time, but life in Heaven lasts for an eternity.  Therefore, don’t let them bother you here on earth and make you feel like you’re an outcast.  You’re not an outcast if you belong to God; you have believers, a Heaven full of people, the Holy Spirit, Jesus, and an almighty God rooting for you!

Have a good day, and God bless!

-Allyson 😀

Featured Image Found At: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/AQ2eglyH7yP67I-kRsnj5meuxeKaL7B00_OjLtx57pMv3DmNcoZzVco/

No copyright infringement intended.

Leave a Reply

