Give God a Chance

For God so loved the world…

If you’ve grown up in a Christian family or have accepted Christ as your Savior, I’m sure you know how this verse ends.  I know my past posts have been directed more towards encouraging Christians to actively seek God and live to reflect His love to others, but this week I want to reach out to the non-believing community:  atheists, agnostics, those who practice other religions, and those who are just curious.  Don’t fret, I’m not going to debate why Christianity is the superior religion, because I know that talking down your beliefs does not enhance my own.  And, if I’m being completely honest, Christianity isn’t a religion;  Christianity is a one-on-one relationship with God, made possible through intercessions made by Jesus Christ.

For God so loved the world, He’s had all of us in mind from the beginning.

“Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.”
-Jeremiah 1:5

Long before you were ever conceived, God had you in mind.  God created the world, and He has specifically designed the timeline of earthly events, as well as the people who participated in them.  God knew each of our names well before our parents named us, and knows each of our destinies, because He has already created plans for our lives.

Now, you may be thinking, “if God is so all-knowing and has already made a plan for my life, then why hasn’t He stopped me from denying Him so far?”

For God so loved the world, He gave us the gift of Free Will.

“A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.”
-Proverbs 16:9

Free will, in my opinion, can best be explained like a Sims game.  When you play the Sims, you are essentially the creator who designs different people and instructs them to do different tasks throughout the game.  Despite this, sometimes the Sims engage in behavior that you did not tell them to do, such as go online and chat with other Sims when they’re bored, play fetch with the dog, etc.  Likewise, God allows us to have the same freedom to choose what we want to do with our lives.  So, if you are living in a way that doesn’t have anything to do with Christianity or following God’s commandments, then it’s just because you made that decision.  If God wants to intervene in your life and redirect you to the path of righteousness, He will.  Saul persecuted Christians before God physically knocked him off his horse and directed him to righteousness (Acts 9).  The thing is, God doesn’t make you choose to follow Him while on earth; that decision is entirely up to you.

 For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
-John 3:16

Everyone born on this earth is a dirty, rotten sinner.  Everyone, whether Christian, atheist,  or what have you, has lived outside of the commandments of God at some point in their life.  The difference between Christianity and the many religions of the world is one simple thing:  accepting Jesus Christ as your Savior.  God sent Jesus Christ to be born on this earth many years ago so that we could be redeemed from our sins if we choose to be.  God gives us a choice to believe or not believe, with the belief being that Jesus died on the cross at Calvary as the most unselfish sacrifice in history to cleanse all of humanity from everyone’s individual sins if they so choose to let Him.  Jesus was sent by God to bear the burdens of sin for everyone who is willing to accept that gift.  By the way, that gift is free, and entails this promise:

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”
-Isaiah 41:10

God doesn’t offer you His gift of salvation to punish you.  God only wants to help you if you’ll help yourself by accepting Jesus as your Savior.  You have nothing to lose in the matter, except for selfish pride.  To belong to God, you must be willing to admit that you can’t navigate life solely on your own merits, that you need a higher being to guide you and to take away your afflictions.

For Jesus so loved you, that He took the punishment, even if you were the only one that would benefit.

Goodnight, and God bless!

-Allyson 😀

Author’s Note:

If you feel led to accept Christ as your Savior, feel free to comment, and I will be happy to talk to you about your decision.  If you still do not feel led to accept Christ, then I respect your decision.  I would like to point out that I will be deleting any comments that are intended to start a debate about religion, or those that are demeaning Christianity.  I did not demean anyone’s beliefs in this post, so I expect commenters to respect my beliefs as well.

Featured Image Found At:  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/256283035021521266/

Featured Image Attributed to:  Billy Graham Evangelistic Association | No Copyright Infringement Intended

Leave a Reply

