Gift Card, Not a Coupon

Before I begin this blog post, I would like to apologize for my extended absence from Jesus: Be My Escape over the last few months. Back in November, I began exploring means of publishing a fiction novel. Although my manuscript was accepted by a Christian publishing company, I declined their offer, as they were asking for a large sum for “marketing” purposes. Therefore, I’ve spent Christmas break getting the novel ready to self-publish through Amazon’s CreateSpace. However, during my absence, I feel as if I have strayed from my call of ministry through this blog, and my heart wasn’t right with the Lord throughout this time. Nevertheless, God has now led me back to where I need to be.

Sin is expensive…
but the price has been paid for us.

Okay, so I’m a total weirdo when it comes to talking (what, with being socially awkward and everything, but that’s a different story for another day XD ). I’ve received a bunch of gift cards for Christmas, and every time I mention using one of them, I end up saying, “oh, I’ve got a coupon for that!” instead of gift card, because for some reason I get the words mixed up. This morning, I took a moment to think why I mix the two words up. Coupons are certificates that, for the most part, only pay a portion of your cost. Conversely, gift cards are certificates that generally pay your cost in total. Then… *drumroll* I realized we do the exact same thing as Christians when considering Salvation.

 

Jesus Didn’t Die for a One-Time Offer

Fellow Christians, God–our Heavenly Father and Almighty Creator of the Universe–did not send His one and only Son to die for us simply for a “one-time offer”. I mean, what would be the point of that? As humans, we are sinners by nature. We don’t just mess up one time; we mess up multiple times, sometimes on a daily basis. Why then do we sometimes think that the gift of Salvation only covers certain, “minor” sins?

” If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” -1 John 1:9

Notice that I applied bold formatting to the words “all unrighteousness”. This verse clearly states that Jesus’s gift of eternal salvation is not a cheap coupon deal; Jesus paid the price of our sins in its entirety on the cross, as stated in the what is arguably the most famous verse in the Bible:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” -John 3:16

Again, notice the bold type. If you believe that Jesus Christ was sent to earth to die for our sins, then you receive a gift card, if you will, that grants you everlasting life. This gift card comes in the form of the Holy Spirit abiding in you after you accept salvation. The amazing part? This gift card never expires. There is no limit. However, that doesn’t give us the right to continue to sin as we please. We must seek to please God in all that we do. I mean, if we would rather seek to please ourselves, wouldn’t we be violating the terms and conditions of our gift card?

 “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.” -Acts 3:19

The Terms and Conditions for eternal salvation through Jesus Christ are as follows:

  • Admit: Admit you are a sinner and are in need of a Savior.
  • Believe: Believe that Jesus Christ is the Savior.
  • Confess: Confess to the Lord that you will follow him and will seek to abide by His Will.

It’s as easy as ABC. 😀

So, to recap, the debt of your sins is not greater than what Jesus is willing to offer. There is no limit to Jesus’s gift card. As long as we continually seek to honor God’s commandments, believe that Jesus is our Savior, and avoid sin we have met the terms and conditions and will receive a never-ending supply of eternal salvation.

That sure beats all of those store gift cards, huh? XD

 

God bless!
-Allyson 😀

Featured Image Found at: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/324540716883036021/
Featured Image Attributed to:  theredsojourner.tumblr.com
No copyright infringement intended.

Leave a Reply

